Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad – Meat Loaf – 1977

Meat Loaf Two out of Three Ain't Bad coverGreat singer – great song – Meat Loaf’s 1977 hit, Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad.

 meat loaf fax

  • With over 80 million records sold, Michael Lee Aday is one of the highest selling music artists of all time.
  • Born in Dallas, Texas, Michael is better known as Meat Loaf.  Meat Loaf’s music career began in Los Angeles with his band, Meat Loaf Soul, named after his mother’s favourite dinner.  Their first gig was in Huntington Beach opening for Van Morrison’s band, Them.
  • Meat Loaf 2By the 1970s, Meat Loaf had gone solo although his first album was on a Motown subsidiary label as a duet with Shaun “Stoney” Murphy.  The album’s production team wrote and selected the songs while Meat Loaf and Stoney were invited to lay down their vocals, nothing more.  The album, titled Stoney & Meatloaf (Meatloaf being shown as one word), was released in 1971 and left the charts untouched.
  • Then came the trilogy of Bat Out of Hell albums.  Bat Out of Hell, Bat Out of Hell II: Back into Hell, and Bat Out of Hell III: The Monster is Loose.  The first sold more than 43 million copies worldwide and continues, 40 years after its release, to sell around 200,000 copies each year.  It stayed on the charts for a phenomenal nine years.
  • Meat Loaf won the 1993 Grammy Award for Best Solo Rock Vocal Performance for the song I’d Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That).  That song being his only #1 single, hitting the top of the charts in over ten countries around the world, including USA and UK.
  • Alongside his singing career, Meat Loaf has appeared in over 50 movies and television shows.
  • Meat Loaf 3It was in the early 1970s while touring with the musical Hair that Meat Loaf auditioned for a musical named, More Than You Deserve, that he met his future collaborator Jim Steinman.  Jim wrote most the material for the Bat Out of Hell trilogy.  He also wrote or co-wrote hit songs for: Bonnie Tyler (Total Eclipse of the Heart), Air Supply (Making Love Out of Nothing at All), and Boyzone, No Matter What.  Meat Loaf and Jim subsequently fell out and ceased working together.
  • Meat Loaf continues to perform – with varying reviews – today, although it is amazing that he’s lasted this long.  It’s said that he’s cheated death on numerous occasions, including: a serious car crash, being struck on the head with a shot during a shot put event, jumping off a stage during a concert and breaking both of his legs, and being afflicted with Wolff–Parkinson–White syndrome, a heart condition.  In October 2006, his private jet had to make an emergency landing at Stansted Airport, London, after the plane’s landing gear failed.  In 2011, he fainted on stage in Pittsburgh; in June 2014, he collapsed while on stage in Edmonton – his vocal double track continuing while he lay unconscious on the stage.

Meat Loaf 1two out of three ain’t bad fax

  • Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad was written by Jim Steinman and recorded by Meat Loaf for his 1977 Bat Out of Hell album.
  • The song peaked at #11 on the US singles chart and 32 on the UK singles chart.  It earned a million-selling Gold single.
  • Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad was the final song written for Bat Out of Hell.  In 2003, Jim said of the song:

“I remember Mimi Kennedy [a cast member of Jim’s then-current musical Rhinegold] telling me, “Steiny, your stuff is so complicated. Can’t you write something simple?”  And while she was saying that the oldies station was on the radio and it was playing that old Elvis song, ‘I Want You, I Need,’ whatever it was. ‘I Want You, I Need You, I Love You’, you know. I just started singing my own song but it was ‘I Want You, I Need You, I Love You.’ She said, “Why don’t you write something simple like that, ‘I want you, I need you, I love you’?” I said, “Well I’ll try.” I don’t try to make them complicated. I remember going home and I tried so hard but the best I could do was: I want you, I need you but there ain’t no way I’m ever gonna love you, don’t be sad, ’cause two out of three ain’t bad. So it was still a twist but it was my closest to a simple song, and one Elvis could have done.”

  • Two versions of the song exist; one timed at around 5:27 and one at around 3:50.
  • Todd Rundgren produced the Bat Out Of Hell album. On this song, he used the other three members of his band Utopia: Kasim Sulton on bass, Willie Wilcox on drums, and Roger Powell on synthesizer. Todd played guitar and sang BVs on this one.
  • Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad lyrics.

two out of three ain’t bad – meat loaf – 1977 – video

follow seventiesmusic on facebook.

Find seventiesmusic on Facbook.You’ll find out when the latest blog is posted (usually about once a week).” Click the Facebook logo to go to the seventiesmusic Facebook page and click “Like.”

Leave a Reply

