I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) – Genesis – 1973

Genesis - I know what I LikeA product of the 70s psychedelic era, I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) was the first song of UK band Genesis to make the UK charts.

genesis fax

  • Formed in 1967.
  • Over the years band members have included: Tony Banks, Mike Rutherford, Phil Collins, Peter Gabriel, and Steve Hackett.
  • Founding member Anthony Phillips left the band in 1970 after recording their second album. He suffered terribly from stage fright and a doctor recommended he leave the band for the sake of his mental health.
  • Genesis have sold over 150 million albums.
  • The band’s first top 40 single in the UK was I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe). In the US, it was Follow You Follow Me. Their only US #1 was Invisible Touch.
  • Genesis were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010.

genesis 2i know what i like (in your wardrobe) fax

  • I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) was Genesis’ first single to make the charts – it peaked at #21 in the UK.
  • I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) was released in August 1973.
  • I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) features on the album Selling England By the Pound.
  • The song is about a young fellow who is perfectly happy working as a groundsman – he especially likes mowing lawns.
  • Inspired by The Beatles, the song features an electric sitar riff and a low Mellotron note during the intro and ending which attempts to imitate the sound of a lawn mower.
  • I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) lyrics.

i know what i like (in your wardrobe) – genesis – 1973 – video


follow seventiesmusic on facebook.

Find seventiesmusic on Facbook.You’ll find out when the latest blog is posted and every Monday you’ll get “This Week in 70s Music.” Click the Facebook logo to go to the seventiesmusic Facebook page and click “Like.”

2 Responses to I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe) – Genesis – 1973

  1. Peter Gabriel is not your average gardner, is he?

Leave a Reply

