Groovin’ With Mr Bloe – Mr Bloe – 1970

Mr Bloe 1One hit wonders with an Elton John connection, from 1970; Mr Bloe and their instrumental, Groovin’ With Mr Bloe.  You may not recognise the name – but chances are you’ll recognise the tune when you hear it!

okay, it wasn’t on the radio

This week, I’ve stepped outside of the rules a little. I didn’t hear this on the radio but remember it being on an ad years ago and I’ve always wondered what the tune was.  I recognised it, but couldn’t recall the name.

I searched my most distant cranial crevices, but to no avail. Then it occurred, if one person would know, my mate Wozza (font of knowledge for all things musical) would.

Email sent, his answer came back almost immediately; the first word being, “Simple.” I guess it was his way of saying I must be slightly stupid not knowing the answer myself… Groovin’ With Mr Bloe; and then it all came back.

elton john connection? what elton john connection?

Mr Bloe was a group of musicians put together to perform and release Groovin’ With Mr Bloe. It was on DJM, or Dick James Music, which Elton John’s, was, of course, signed to.

Dick James originally used a group of musicians that included Elton John on piano. Dick didn’t like the result and so grabbed another set of muso’s to give it another go.

And the result was a hit record!

groovin’ with mr bloe fax

  • Groovin’ with Mr Bloe was released in the UK on 9 May 1970. Two months later it peaked at #2 on the UK singles chart.
  • The B-side of the single included two instrumentals written by Elton John; Get Out Of This Town, and 71-75 New Oxford. Elton played piano on them both.
  • Follow up singles and an album both bombed making Mr Bloe a true one-hit-wonder.

groovin’ with mr bloe – mr bloe – 1970 – video

the saatchi and saatchi commercial

follow seventiesmusic on facebook.

Find seventiesmusic on Facbook.You’ll find out when the latest blog is posted and every Monday you’ll get “This Week in 70s Music.” Click the Facebook logo to go to the seventiesmusic Facebook page and click “Like.”

4 Responses to Groovin’ With Mr Bloe – Mr Bloe – 1970

  1. wozza says:

    Rules schmules – free your mind GK.

    Actually my first word was ‘easy’ and mmm I guess there was a sub text but I wasn’t trying to be putting down my ole buddy. Sorry ’bout that chief!

    I’ve used this geese clip with classes before as inspiration. Have you seen the pep talk videos by Class President on youtube? You’ll love them.

    • Greg.K. says:

      Easy, Simple – all the same to me. 🙂

      For years I was thinking it was Canned Heat. Then, in reading about Mr Bloe, I discover that it was originally released by a US band. When Mr Bloe had a hit with it, that US band released their version in the UK under the band name, Cool Heat!
      That would be where my confusion arose.

      thanks for your help – I slept easy last night!

  2. Djinnjaha says:

    The version used on the Saatchi and Saatchi TV advert sounds like the cover of Groovin’ With Mr Bloe that was recorded by the harmonica maestro Larry Adler

Leave a Reply

