Reflections of My Life – Marmalade – 1970

marmalade - Reflections of my life - 1970In 1969, Marmalade had a #1 single in the UK with a cover of The Beatles’ Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da. They followed it up in 1970 with Reflections of My Life, their only US hit single.

nMarmalade 3ow, there’s a few things I didn’t know

          • Marmalade was from Scotland.
          • They formed in 1961.
          • They were originally known as The Gaylords.
          • They changed their name in 1966.

when does a band cease to be?

Marmalade still tours, but there are no original members remaining; kinda weird if you ask me.

reflections of my life fax

  • Reflections of My Life was a #3 UK single and #10 US single. Released in 1969, it was at #1 over the New Year period and so just sneaks into the 1970 charts.
  • By 1971, sales had reached one million. That figure has now doubled and, in 1998, writers Junion Campbell and Dean Ford were awarded a Special Citation of Achievement for attaining radio broadcast performances in excess of one million in the US alone.
  • Reflections of My Life has been used in a number of movies including Inside Deep Throat, the documentary on the life of Linda Lovelace.
  • The lyrics of Reflections of My Life appear frequently in the book, Flying Through Midnight by John T Halliday – a memoir of a Vietnam War veteran.
  • Reflections of My Life lyrics.

reflections of my life – marmalade – 1970 – video

I added this second video after realising the one above didn’t contain the rather distinctive guitar solo which was created by recording a guitar track forward, then reversing it and recording over the top of it… pretty innovative for 1970!

follow seventiesmusic on facebook.

Find seventiesmusic on Facbook.You’ll find out when the latest blog is posted and every Monday you’ll get “This Week in 70s Music.” Click the Facebook logo to go to the seventiesmusic Facebook page and click “Like.”

3 Responses to Reflections of My Life – Marmalade – 1970

  1. Miki says:

    Love the hair and the strides . . . always thought the song a bit maudlin but I guess given its connections , , , I take it you HEARD this yesterday on the radio and not via the documentary or its topic of origin . . ?!

  2. Greg.K. says:

    Ha! Yep, heard it on the radio the other week. It is a bit maudlin, but I have always loved this song…

  3. Ann Marie Meek says:

    Great post – I love Reflections of my Life. It’s a wonderful song that doesn’t get the attention it deserves.

Leave a Reply

