Dream Weaver – Gary Wright – 1976

Gary Knight - Dream WeaverGary Wright’s Dream Weaver from 1976 is a duet of sorts, Jim Keltner on drums and Gary on keyboards and vocals – and that’s it.

gary wright

Born and raised in New Jersey, Gary Wright went to Europe as a young man to further his study in psychology before winding up in the UK. Gary’s one of those artists who, in response to his name, you often hear, “Who?” And yet he is, in the music scene, widely known and respected.

In the late 60s Gary was the singer and keyboardist with Spooky Tooth – a band that has been through several reincarnations over the years but still exists today (They last toured in late 2009).

Spooky Tooth played in an era when keyboards were as in vogue in music as guitars are today and many bands boasted two keyboardists– usually one on piano-based keys, the other on organ based keys. e.g. The Band, Procol Harum, Mott the Hoople, and Janis Joplin’s backing band, Full Tilt Boogie Band.

Gary was a friend of George Harrison and collaborated with him often. He’s also played with Rick Derringer, Edgar Winter, Ringo Starr, Joe Walsh, and Jeff “Skunk” Baxter.

dreams

Dreams are strange things. I hardly ever dream. Some people dream every night. And my friend Dorothy believes that, if you can remember a dream when you wake in the morning, then it means something and you should take careful heed of whatever it is.

I’m not so sure. I’m pretty sure some of the dreams I have are caused by late night coffee drinking or the slightly past-their-use-by mushrooms that I fried up for dinner. There was one time though…

honeymooning

So, I’m on my honeymoon. Married only a matter of days, hours maybe. I have this really vivid dream that all my teeth fall out.

Now, this is well B.G. (that’s Before Google) but there is a magazine in the place we’re staying. There’s a section in it called, Interpret Your Dreams, and, would you believe it, there it is, If You Dream You Are Losing Your Teeth.

Apparently it means you subconsciously feel you have lost control of your future. Now, I ask you, what’s that have to do with getting married?

and, what’s it got to do with music…

 the song

Gary Wright had two hit songs. Both in 1976. Both went to #2 on the US Billboard chart.

The second was Love is Alive. The first was the rather esoteric Dream Weaver – complete with mysterious organ music and dreamy introduction.

in gary’s words

On Gary’s website he says of Dream Weaver;

“In 1972, my friend George Harrison invited me to accompany him on a trip to India. A few days before we left, he gave me a copy of the book Autobiography of a Yogi by Paramahansa Yogananda. Needless to say the book inspired me deeply, and I became totally fascinated with Indian culture and philosophy. My trip was an experience I will never forget. During the early ’70s while reading more of the writings of Paramahansa Yogananda, I came across a poem called God! God! God! One of the lines in the poem referred to the idea of the mind weaving dreams and the thought immediately occurred to me, weaver of dreams… Dream Weaver. I wrote it down in my journal of song titles and forgot about it. Several months passed, and one weekend, while in the English countryside, I picked up my journal and came across the title ‘Dream Weaver.’ Feeling inspired, I picked up my acoustic guitar and began writing. The song was finished in an hour. The lyrics and music seemed to have flowed out of me as if written by an unseen source. After the record was released and became successful many people asked me what the song meant. I really wasn’t sure myself and would answer ‘it was about a kind of fantasy experience… a Dream Weaver train taking you through the cosmos.’ But I was never satisfied with that explanation, and as years went by I began to reflect on what the song actually meant and then it came to me: ‘Dream Weaver, I believe you can get me through the night…’ was a song about someone with infinite compassion and love carrying us through the night of our trials and suffering. None other than God Himself.”

 dream weaver fax

  • Dream Weaver reached #2 on the US Billboard charts. It reached #1 in Australia, Canada and Europe.
  • Dream Weaver is the title track of Gary’s 1975 album
  • Dream Weaver features well-known drummer Jim Keltner. Apart from drums and Gary’s keyboards there are no other instruments on the song. NO guitars!!
  • The expression “Dream Weaver” was popularised by John Lennon in 1970 in his song “God,” taken from his solo album John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band. This song depicts Lennon’s declaration that he was the dream weaver of the sixties, breaking away from the influences and dogmas that influenced his life.
  • In 1992 a longer version of Dream Weaver was recorded for the movie Wayne’s World.
  • Samples of Dream Weaver often play in movies to denote the first time meeting between two characters who will later fall in love. e.g. Daddy Day Care and Toy Story 3.
  • Dream Weaver also featured in the television series, That 70s Show and Nip and Tuck.
  • Dream Weaver and its keyboard introduction inspired the concept behind the film A Nightmare on Elm Street.
  • Dream Weaver lyrics.
Leave a Reply

