Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) – Daddy Dewdrop – 1971

Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) – a 1971 one hit wonder that somehow eluded the censors, but not my Year Seven teacher!

the innocence of children

So, I’m at Intermediate School – that’s Year 7 or Grade something for our American friends. Everyday, straight after lunch, the teacher lets us listen to a piece of what she calls, “popular music.” She says “popular” with an emphasis on the “POP-u-LARRR” which somehow accentuates her total disapproval for all things contemporary.

Anyway, it’s that time of the day. We’re waiting expectantly. David Johnstone slips today’s 45 (that’s a single record for the young folks) from his bag and hands it over. It’s a song called Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) by Daddy Dewdrop. Teacher looks at it and screws up her nose – as she does everyday! Seating the disc on the turntable, she lowers the needle and we start grooving to the familiar Hammond Organ intro.

We’re singing along to the catchy chorus and listening with childhood naivety as the story of the girl in the black bikini unfolds, all the time totally unaware of the growing look of indignation on teacher’s face.

standing up for women

The song ends. Approving nods are passed from pupil to pupil – boys and girls alike. And then teacher speaks.

With a quavering voice she begins to talk about the degrading nature of the song. She talks about feminism and chauvinism and a number of other –isms I’ve never heard of. And, while some argue with her, scales fall from my eyes!

revelation

I recall this moment of my childhood quite vividly. It was the first time I ever heard anyone argue a point of view that came anywhere close to expressing an opinion that had to do with an issue of social justice.  Years later I’m involved in the leadership of aid agencies that champion the cause of various social justice initiatives and I wonder if this is the point such a desire for social justice was planted inside of me?

daddy dewdrop??

It probably won’t surprise you to know that Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) was a one hit wonder. And neither will it surprise you to discover that Daddy Dewdrop was not the singer’s real name.

Daddy Dewdrop was a pseudonym Dick Monda, an American songwriter. Dick went on to become a successful songwriter penning songs for artists such as; Ringo Starr, Kenny Rogers, Tom Jones, Engelbert Humperdinck, Sammy Davis Jr.

Dick still records, sometimes as Daddy Dewdrop, and sometimes under his full name, M. Richard Monda.

chick-a-boom (don’t ya jes’ love it) fax

  • Chick-A-Boom was originally recorded for the cartoon, Sabrina and the Groovie Goolies.
  • Chick-A-Boom was re-recorded, renamed Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It), and released in 1971 on an album of novelty tunes.
  • Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) reached #9 in the US.
  • The follow-up singles didn’t do so well. Neither The March of the White Corpuscles nor Nanu Nanu (I Wanna’ Get Funky With You) charted.
  • Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) lyrics.
4 Responses to Chick-A-Boom (Don’t Ya Jes’ Love It) – Daddy Dewdrop – 1971

  1. wozza says:

    Still no Jim! Tap tap tap tap (that’s my foot and my arms are folded).

  2. Greg.K. says:

    You don’t understand the rules, my friend… I can only post on a song I’ve heard on the radio the previous week. That’s how it works (read my “About” page). As soon as Jim is played, he’ll be on the blog!!!

    Hey, do you recall this week’s song (Chick-A-Boom). No one else I’ve spoken to can recall it!

  3. wozza says:

    Oops forgot about that – I thought they were more guidelines than hard and fast rules. Nevermind you came through for me!

    Yeah,of course I know that song – really annoying it is. Not annoying like Daddy Cool style stuff though (which isn’t annoying at all) but annoying in the way it gets into your brain for the day.

    Can’t believe Piggy doesn’t like Queen. We almost went to We Will Rock You last week but went to see some drama instead which was amazingly good. Want to see WWRY at some point though.

  4. Greg.K. says:

    I LOVED the Daddy Cool album. They were the second ever live act I saw. At Carlaw Park one Sunday afternoon. I was in a band that did Eagle Rock – not very well unfortunately!

    And as for Piggy – I blame her parents. She went off the rails very early and got into Hip-Hop in a big way. Of well.

    I must admit, from afar I cannot get enthusiastic about Queen’s music but as soon as I hear it I just love it. Every band member contributed and was a musical genius.

Leave a Reply

