This Old Heart of Mine – Rod Stewart – 1976

Rod Stewart This old heart of mineThis Old Heart of Mine is a hit-track from Rod Stewart’s 1975 new-direction album Atlantic Crossing.

not really a fan

I’m not a great fan of Rockin’ Rod. I neither want his body and nor do I think he’s sexy.

He started so well with the Small Faces and with the superb Maggie May (1971). But after that it’s been a little hit and miss and, in recent years, more miss than hit. However, I have to admit this – Rod Stewart is one of the best live acts I’ve ever seen.

Rod Stewart i saw rod once

I can’t tell you what year it was. It must have been about 1978 because I know the album Do Ya Think I’m Sexy had just been released. I could say I got talked into going but that’s probably not true. I love live music and so would have willingly gone.

The thing I remember most about the concert is that Rod Stewart absolutely owned the stage – and it was an impressive set-up.

The stage was entirely white. Everything – amps, mic stands, backdrops, everything sparkling white. And before Rod came on a group of roadies came out with floor polish and mops and polished the floor until it was almost like a mirror surface, obviously so that Rod could cavort and slide across it at will.

And, say what you like about Rockin’ Rod, he knows how to cavort and work his stage!

tAtlantic Crossing Rod Stewarthere was one album i thought was just wonderful…

Atlantic Crossing was released in 1975 – one of a phenomenal TEN albums that Rod has had reach #1 on the album charts in the US and/or UK.

Most albums have an A-side and a B-side (well, they did in those days), but this one had Fast Side and Slow Side. And one was as good as the other. Apparently it was Rod’s then girlfriend, Britt Ekland, who suggested this concept. It was a format Rod repeated on his next two albums – A Night on the Town and Footloose and Fancy Free.  (maybe he changed the concept about the time he changed girlfriends!).

Atlantic Crossing was re-released on June 30th 2009 as a two-disc version with bonus tracks.

this old heart of mine fax

  • The full title of This Old Heart of Mine is, This Old Heart of Mine (Is Weak for You)
  • This Old Heart of Mine was written by the Motown team of Holland-Dozier-Holland with Sylvia Moy.
  • This Old Heart of Mine was originally a hit for The Isley Brothers – in 1966, it reached #12 on the US singles charts and #6 on the US R and B charts. Rod released his single version in 1976.
  • This Old Heart of Mine was originally intended for The Supremes – they recorded it later on their album, Supremes A’ Go-Go. The song’s bridge is almost identical to that of an earlier Supremes hit, Back in My Arms Again.
  • In 1989, This Old Heart of Mine was re-released as a duet with Rod and Ronald Isley, from the Isley Brothers. It reached #10 on the US singles chart and spent five weeks at #1 on the adult contemporary chart.
  • This Old Heart of Mine has also been recorded by Tammi Terrell, in 1969 and the Dutch girl group Luv’ in 1992.
  • Rod StewartIn 1976 Lamont Dozier, the song’s lyricist, explained how he came up with the words to This Old Heart of Mine and other love songs he’s written,

“I’ve often broken up with a girlfriend for a week just to be able to get that real feeling of hurt so that I can write what I write from experience! I should add that I always make sure we patch up again after the week’s over. But I’m constantly working at the piano – that’s my source of release, like a tranquilizer for me.”

  • Curtis Mayfield wrote a song called Can’t Satisfy that was a 1966 hit for The Impressions. Motown sued Mayfield claiming the melody was very similar to This Old Heart of Mine. Mayfield ended up sharing songwriting credit for his song with Holland/Dozier/Holland/Moy.
  • This Old Heart of Mine lyrics.
4 Responses to This Old Heart of Mine – Rod Stewart – 1976

  1. Angela says:

    I think I was at that concert! I do think he is sexy……. still!!!!

  2. Greg.K. says:

    I think I remember you! You were shouting, “I love you Rod.”

    BTW – You’re just the type of girl he goes for Angela!! Very tall and very blond…. :-)

  3. Mike says:

    The concert you would have seen Rockin’ Rod would have been the March 1977 show he played at NZ’s no.1 concert venue, the magical Western Springs Stadium to a crowd of 33,000. I think 99% of males attending Rockin’ Rods concerts (post 1976) were lured into going by females.

  4. Greg.K. says:

    Yes, it was Western Springs. And it is a fine concert venue. The scene of my very first live concert – Led Zep – see my very first post on this blog for the story.
    (And, to my embarrassment, I think I went to see Rockin’ Rod of my own accord. Mine you, back in those days he was Rockin’ Rod and not Disco Rod nor Crooner Rod).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

